Skip to content

Import Friday – Paulander Salvator

January 22, 2010

The Paulander brewery was founded in Munich during the early 1600s by the Minim Friars. It was brewed to be consumed during Lent. When I was in Venice for a few days in the summer past I drank a lot of Paulander’s Hefe-Weissbier. That, coupled with a good reputation and never having drank a doppelbock, I was excited to buy and drink this. Fun fact: Salvator is Latin for “Saviour”.

It pours an orange mahogany. I don’t know if that make sense, but that’s how I felt it looked when I poured it. The blurry and poorly lit picture doesn’t show it well. Anyways, this orange mahogany brew was topped off with pillowy white head.

It has a sweet fruit smell and then it hit me – Christmas Cake! This beer smells Christmas cake. Oddly enough there was a tin with a Christmas cake in the kitchen. Identical.

It tastes exactly like a Christmas cake. A perfectly carbonated Christmas cake.

Salvator has a nice medium body to it and the carbonation was spot on.

The only downside to this beer is that I loathe Christmas cake. If I didn’t pay money for it I would have been the first beer I poured down the drain. Despite not likely the taste of this beer it is hard to deny that it is a well crafted brew. It’s very similar to other dark Germany lager imports. For that I will give it a Good rating.

Rating:
Style: Doppelbock
ABV: 7.9%
Serving Temp: 9-13ºC
Website: http://www.paulaner.com/
BCL: N/A

From → Beer, Import, Seasonal

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. BC Beer – Lighthouse Navigator « Beer in BC

Leave a Reply

