Skip to content

BC Beer – Tree Hop Head Double IPA

January 24, 2010

So, yeah, I’m kind of a hophead. I like, I really like, big hoppy beers. A year ago I would have made the exact opposite claim. So a year ago when this beer was first released I would never had paid any attention it. I feel guilty now. The internet told me that this a good beer. So I blindly, and accidentally, bought every bottle in Salmon Arm. How was I suppose to know they only ordered one case. Now I feel guilty because I bought this beer. I’m never going to win. I might as well start to do a review of it now.

It is your typical pale ale copper colour with hints of orange. The head is thick and slightly off-white, I’d say eggshell, and it clings to the glass sort of like this monkey and puppy. I was quite impressed. I haven’t seen such lacing like that in a while.
I swoosh in for a sniff. My nose filled with wild grass moistened by morning dew, Jagermeister-like herbal notes, hints of citrus with a creamsicleness presence. Phenolic starts to poke it’s head in as the beer starts to warm up to the temperature of the room.
After each sip my mouth was coated in sweet maltiness and the typical resinous feeling of hops. With pine being the dominate hop flavour, followed by some herbalness. The slightest alcoholic finish is present and increasing becomes so as it warms up. I found the Double Hophead moderately bitter causing a nice dry finish. The carbonation was good.

Overall this beer is Good. I wouldn’t buy a case again, but I’ll definitely buy more next year. It also went well with the butter chicken I had for dinner.

Rating: Good
Style: Double IPA
ABV: 8.0%
Serving Temp: 9-13ºC
Website: http://treebeer.com/
BCL: N/A

Andy The Beerman wrote about it as well. Read what he said here.

http://www.treebeer.com/

From → Beer, Seasonal

3 Comments
  1. bohica99 permalink

    Thanks for the referral! I have a case to go through as well. It’s a nice enough beer, just not what I was hoping for.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Canada’s Top 100 on BeerAdvocate « BC Beers
  2. Several New Beers Out Now « Beer in BC

Leave a Reply

