Skip to content

BC Beer – Driftwood’s Naughty Hildegard

February 20, 2010

A brand new ESB from the new guys in Victoria. These guys started selling beers the same time I got in to beer. It seems so long ago, even though it was only 17 months ago. We’ve come along way. I think they’ve done better though.

Our take on the classic Extra Special Bitter (ESB). Brewed with a distinct Northwest hop character balanced by a rich & malty body.

Sure to be in quick demand for all you hop lovers!

Hildegard Von Bingen was reportedly one of the first people to record the use of hops in beer; something that probably came up against some resistance… naughty Hildegard!

TIME TO GET NAUGHTY!

Anyways this is a first. I’m writing this as I go along. Normally I take notes and finish the beer before I write anything up about it.

I popped it open. The bottle made an alluring hiss at me. It was like a siren song. “Drink me Dave” it called out. I succumbed to it. As I was pouring it, the beautiful smell of earthy hops, with whispers of spiciness, filled the room. Oh Ms. Hildegard! You smell divine. Hildegard’s red-copper body makes the perfect palate of maltiness. When you go in for that first taste Her Hoppiness just explodes in your mouth. The spiciness of them really picks up. This beer is sexy. This beer makes me feel sexy.

This beer is GREAT. Get it while it is fresh. Now if you will excuse me, Hildegard and I need to be alone.

Rating: Great
Style: ESB
ABV: 6.5%
Serving Temp: 9-13ºC
Website:http://driftwoodbeer.com/
BCL: N/A


From → Beer, Limited Release

Leave a Reply

