Skip to content

BC Beer – Dead Frog 2½ Anniversary Ale

March 1, 2010

I have a secret (not anymore I guess) love affair with smoked beers. So few, so good. As soon as I heard that Dead Frog put a limit release beer I perked up. My relationship with limited releases is more of a love-hate relationship. When I read on and found out it was a smoked amber ale. I was all like ‘smoked?!’ Gotta get me some. The only downside is that it is only available in the Dead Frog Mixer. I thought this was a downside at first, so I went in with the mind-set that I’d get three bottles of 2½ Anniversary Ale for $22 and nine bottles of other beer for free. The more I drank through those ‘free’ beers my 2½ Anniversary Ale kept becoming a better and better deal. As you can see with the Lager they surprised me. Let’s get on to the 2½ Anniversary Ale.

2½ Anniversary Ale is a deep-amber-copper. It fills my nose with a light smokiness, roasted malts, nuttiness, and floral hops. The taste is similar with smokiness and nuttiness being dominant. It’s like roasted chestnuts. All leading to a slightly creamy body with an even finish. Most smoked beers make being a smoked beer its main focus. Dead Frog used the smoked malts to add subtleness and complexity to the beer. Instead of feeling like you’re drinking a bottle of smoke you feel like you’re sitting by a campfire with some friends having a good time.

Celebrating a 2½ Anniversary is quite weird, but when the brewery’s named ‘Dead Frog’ what did you expect?

Rating: Good
Style: Smoked Amber
ABV: 5%
Serving Temp: 9-13ºC
Website: http://www.deadfrogbrewery.com/
BCL: 530089

From → Beer, Seasonal

3 Comments
  1. The only time I’ve had this brew was at a beer sampling night @ O’Hares in Richmond along with other Dead Frog brews (along with many others!!). Gotta agree with ya. Wish it was available alone!

  2. Troy permalink

    I disagree with you about this beer. It tastes awful in my opinion. It reminds me of miso soup! The Dead Frog Lager reminds me of chamomile tea! (But still tasty nonetheless)
    The nut brown, though….it’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

