Skip to content

So, I made some beer cookies.

April 3, 2010

There is a recipe on the internet for beer cookies. If you google beer cookies you’ll find it reposted on dozens upon dozens of sites and blogs. The recipe looked a bit tame to me. So I teamed up with Appetizing Ideas, also known as my sister, and we changed the recipe up a little bit. I wanted to suit the beer I had chosen better. And judging by the comments on the original recipe I used a somewhat better beer, Nelson Blackheart Oatmeal Stout. Cooking with YFB (yellow fizzy beer) just doesn’t work. It’s a really tame oatmeal stout, as in you wouldn’t know it had oatmeal in it unless the label said so. I’ll post my full impressions of the beer tomorrow or Monday.

Anyways, here is the first draft of the cookie recipe. I’m going to get working on it until I get it perfect.

Ingredients:
1½ cup Flour
½ teaspoon Baking Soda
½ cup Brown Sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
½ cup Butter/Margarine
1¼ Beer
½ Oatmeal

1) Preheat oven to 350ºF
2) Cream the butter/margarine and brown sugar together.
3) Cut in the dry ingredients.
4) Blend in the beer.
5) Glob spoonfuls on to a cookie sheet
6) Bake for around 11-13 minutes.
7) Drink rest of the beer.

They came out tasting like soft gingerbread. The roasted flavours of the Blackheart Oatmeal Stout come through quite well. I think more oatmeal and less cinnamon would work better.

Next time around I’m going to tryout the Granville Island Lions Winter Ale.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

