Skip to content

BC Beer – Crannóg Ales Back Hand of God

April 8, 2010

I’m not sure why it’s taken me so long to do a beer from my local brewery. The brewery is only 10 minutes away from my house, and I have had a couple growlers since starting this project. I’m so bad this. We already knew that though.

I love the Dry Irish Stout style. I always find that they’re heavy on the coffee taste/aroma that roasted malts impart. I don’t even drink coffee. Back Hand of God is no exception. This cola looking beer has a strong coffee aroma with flecks of cocoa mingled in, and burnt bread. When supped this continues in one the smoothest, and slightly creamy, stouts you can imagine. There is a nice light hop presence through out that just adds even more to a beer that such big flavours at 5.2%. CAMRA Vancouver members have given this beer, and brewery, many awards and they’re deserved. This is BC’s best stout, and the best of the kind that I’ve had so far.

I really want some now. It’s 10pm as I’m typing this though. I have a feeling that they wouldn’t appreciate a call right now.

Oh, this beer is only available on draft, or from growler/party pigs at the brewery. A few stores in the local area also have party pigs.

Rating: Great
Style: Irish Stout
ABV: 5.2%
Serving Temp: 10-13ºC
Website: http://www.crannogales.com/
BCL: N/A

From → Beer

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Bush Beer, or Praise of the Party Pig « Beer in BC

Leave a Reply

