Skip to content

BC Beer – Cannery’s Apricot Wheat Ale

April 14, 2010

Normally I avoid fruit wheat beers. They’re always boring or just plain awful. I was at Cannery Brewing before the Okanagan Fest-of-Ale started. More on that later. Pat was kind enough to give me a taste of all 9 (!) beers they currently have available. One of them is the brand new Squire Scotch Ale and another was their summer seasonal, the Apricot Wheat Ale. I’ve seen this before, but avoided it because other breweries have led me to believe that you can’t have a good fruit wheat ale. Cannery changed my perceptions of them. I picked up a bomber of it and the Squire Scotch Ale to enjoy back at home. It was 20º today, and I spent most of it working in the sun. It was time to crack the Apricot Wheat Ale to cool down and quench my thirst.

Apricot Wheat Ale is a hazy orange-tinged golden beer with a bright white head that erupts as it’s being poured. I’m loving it. The head dissipates rather quickly making way for the rest of the bottle. The aroma is of clean, dry wheat and, of course, apricots. The basis of the beer is the American style wheat ale. Another normally a boring style, probably why most fruit wheat beers are no good.  But Cannery says ‘NO MORE!’ with the addition of apricot which makes it lively, delicious, and most importantly, refreshing. Apricot Wheat Ale can slake the toughest of thirsts.

I should have bought more than one bottle.

Rating: Good
Style: American Wheat Ale with Apricot
ABV: 5.0%
Serving Temp: 6-8ºC
Website: http://www.cannerybrewing.com/
BCL: 273938

From → Beer, Seasonal

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. BC Beer – Cannery’s Squire Scotch Ale « Beer in BC

Leave a Reply

