Skip to content

Import Friday – Three Weisse Guys

April 30, 2010

I original mission statement for the Import Friday was to bring you beers available from the BCL. Seriously most of those beers are shite, so I broke away from that for a bit. Some of the Signature stores have a good selection of Belgian imports. Like on Monday I picked up three bottles of Orval and a Moinette Blonde from the BCL in Vernon.

If you don’t know it’s now officially weiss season in BC. Every brewery that brews a weiss beer through this half of the year has already started doing so. I went to my local BCL in Salmon Arm hoping to score a 6’er of Tree’s Hefeweizen, or at the very least Okanagan Springs. I found none. So I grabbed three imported ones that are available all year! Schneider Wiesse Original, König Ludwig Weissbier, Hacker-Pschorr Hefe Weisse. All these are readily available in most BCLs.

When I compare hefeweizens I look at the the balance of the three big flavours found in them: bubblegum, banana and clove. These flavours are produced by phenols released by the yeast during fermentation. I look at the balance of those flavours and combine it the mouthfeel of the beer to decide if I like it. Correction, how much I like it. I love hefeweizens and I have yet to have a bad one. Let’s get on to the beers now.

Schneider Wiesse Original
Straddles the not so thin line between a regular weisse and a dunkel-weizen. Mellow banana, bubblegum, and clove with a sort of vanilla-chocolateliness to it all.

Rating: Good
Style: Hefeweizen
ABV: 5.4%
Serving Temp: 7-9ºC
Website: http://www.schneider-weisse.de/
BCL: 366070

König Ludwig
It has a fruity-banana with a clove finish, very effervescent.

Rating: Good
Style: Hefeweizen
ABV: 5.5%
Serving Temp: 7-9ºC
Website: http://www.koenig-ludwig.com
BCL: 11692

Hacker-Pschorr
Dominated by nutmeg-clove with some banana mingled in. Rather effervescent, not as much as the König.

Rating: Average
Style: Hefeweizen
ABV: 5.5%
Serving Temp: 7-9ºC
Website: http://www.hacker-pschorr.de/
BCL: 899187

My favourite of the three? König Ludwig wins without question. I liked the Schneider, but it’s not pure hefeweizen. I also prefer more roasted flavours in my dunkel-weizens, such as Brauerei Karg’s.

That four pack I promised last time? That’ll be next Friday.

From → Beer, Import

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

