Skip to content

BC Beer – Russell’s A Wee Angry Scotch Ale

May 2, 2010

At the recent World Beer Cup Russell picked up a bronze medal in the Scotch Ale category with this beer.

From the label:

A Wee Angry Scotch Ale is part of the Russell Brewmaster Series: a succession of small batch beers that push taste boundaries and explore new styles of beers.

This beer has been brewed with a blend of Scottish speciality malts in the style of a 19th Century 90 Shilling Scotch Ale – a strong dark ale with a dominant malt accent that originated in Edinburgh. This batch of beer was brewed by Jack Bensley, Eric Dubuc and Anders McKinnon, Russell Brewing Company, 2010.

As the top was popped a sticky dark fruity-toffee aroma immediately filled my nostrils. I tipped the bottle over my glass and it filled with a red-brown elixir. On further inspection of the aroma I get bready malt, toasted malt and mild alcohol. In the flavour department I got toffee, caramel, bread pudding with a peaty alcohol warmth that segues in to a mildly nutty, almost chocolately, finish.

I’m really glad to see Russell starting to make some proper craft beer. I’m really enjoying this beer. And since I featured Cannery’s new beer, which is also a Scotch Ale, I feel compelled to compare them. I really dug the peatiness of Cannery’s, but I prefer the malt flavour in Russell’s. If only I could have the best of both worlds. Pick this up along with Cannery’s and pick your favourite.

Rating: Good
Style: Scotch Ale
ABV: 6.5%
Serving Temp: 9-13ºC
Website: http://www.russellbeer.com/
BCL: n/a

From → Beer

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My GCBF 2010 Guide « Beer in BC

Leave a Reply

