Skip to content

Import Friday – Old Speckled Hen

May 28, 2010

I found this in the back of fridge. It’s been there for a few months. According to the can it’s still quite good. And I really wanted a beer, but I didn’t want to wait half an hour for one of mine to get a chill. Plato the Buffalo taught me better.

Old Speckled Hen is robust cooper with a thick, but soft, head. Bread pudding and fruits dominate the nose; however the Hen has a chalky, bready, and hint of that fruit and tin in the flavour. The mouthfeel is awful. After every sip it feels like I’ve just sucked on a piece of chalk. Maybe that’s the character they’re talking about on the can.

I’ve never enjoyed this beer. Even when I drank it a couple of times over in England. Some how it got worse over here. Ugh, I gotta dump this out. I don’t want a beer anymore.

Rating: Bad
Style: English Pale Ale
ABV: 5.2%
Serving Temp: 8ºC
Website: http://www.oldspeckledhen.co.uk/
BCL: 563601

From → Beer, Import

One Comment
  1. Old Speckled Hen is only good if you drive an MG. Great blog.

Leave a Reply

