Skip to content
Tags

It’s Kill the Cellar Month

June 7, 2010

I’m moving back to Victoria on July 1st.  I have about 80-90 bottles of beer here in Sorrento.  I don’t want to have to move them all with me.  And since nobody was serious about coming here to Sorrento to help me drink them all, I’m going to have to do this all by myself.  At least one beer a day, and whether or not you want to hear all about it, I’m going to tell you all about it.

Tonight I’m going to drink the Chimay White. I remember having a sample of this at GCBF. My roommate came running up to me and exclaim “You gotta try this beer! It’s made by monks… in BELGIUM!” I was sold by the whole monk thing. The whole Belgian thing was just bacon on a burger for me. Needless to say that year’s festival was what got me in to beer. More on that later. More on Chimay White now.

What a delectable bouquet on this beer. Orange, honey, anise, fruit, wild flowers, yeast, light straw-like malt. On the taste it starts off with light malt, followed by subtle fruits with a hint of a spiciness, then finishes very dry with some alcohol warmth. Delightful. I much prefer it to my old Tripel of La Fin Du Monde.


Rating: Great
Style: Tripel
ABV: 8.0%
Serving Temp: 8ºC
Website: http://www.chimay.com/
BCL: n/a

From → Beer, Blog, Import

3 Comments
  1. Looks like a nice collection! Wish I was there to help kill it…

  2. next time you’re in victoria i’ll buy ya a beer.

  3. Dad permalink

    You never offered me any!

Leave a Reply

