Skip to content

BC Beer – Driftwood Belle Royale

June 13, 2010

Belle Royale is another one-off by Driftwood, a follow-up to the incredible Naughty Hildegard. It’s a Tripel brewed with morello (sour) cherries. I first had this beer cask-conditioned at Hoppapalooza. It left an impression me, so to speak. I was apprehensive to try it again. When I started drinking this bottle I wasn’t sure why I was so apprehensive. I’m going to blame palate fatigue. I drank many different beers that night.

First whiff gleaned that lightly smoked salmon aroma, but much more subdued than at Hoppapalooza. Further inspection finds cherries, shocking I know, sweet fruits, candy, apples, alcohol and mustiness. The flavour is dominated by cherries, candy, that mustiness and a general sweetness, all of which sweeps the alcohol under the carpet, so to speak. This spritzy, tart beer, with a midly sweet finish, kept beckoning me back for more.

Rating: Good
Style: Tripel w/ sour cherries
ABV: 9.0%
Serving Temp: 9ºC
Website: http://driftwoodbeer.com/
BCL: n/a

From → Beer, Limited Release

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

