Skip to content

“I can’t appreciate this beer”

June 30, 2010

The full quote went “I really enjoy this beer, but I can’t appreciate it.” A co-worker said this to me as to me as we sipped on a beer each and talked hockey and Olympics.

I was drinking Alley’s Kat Taste 25 brewed for Sherbrooke Liquor Store. A delightful little steam beer with a smooth toffee malt blended with a fruity profile. He was drinking Innis and Gunn’s Triple Matured Oak Aged Beer. A beer I have not yet experienced.

When he said this to me I was struck dumbfounded. I couldn’t come up with a response to it. I said absolutely nothing. There was a few second lull in the conversation that was ended by co-worker that eventually led the conversation to stories from playing hockey as we grew up.

His comment stuck with me for several weeks. I felt embarrassed that I could not offer a response. I’m not sure why. I think it’s because I feel like a voice of good beer willing to speak to those who want to listen. Even more so as my exposure has reach a level I never expected.

So how does someone appreciate a beer. I think it’s very simple. Enjoy it. Enjoy it and recognize that the beer in front of you was brewed for your enjoyment. Not merely just to be consumed, but also enjoyed. This is what I believe the essence of the craft beer movement.

He was appreciating it, he just didn’t realize it.

From → Blog

3 Comments
  1. Did you try the beer? I usually love Innis and Gunn beers when they come in the nice boxes, but they can be pretty rank after soaking up the liquor store fluorescent light through their clear bottles.

  2. I haven’t tried it yet. They come in little boxes, so I don’t imagine skunking being a major issue, though I’ve seen stores remove them from the box.

    I also have a 2009 of their Canadian Cask edition that I plan on drinking very soon.

  3. The regular Innis and Gunn beers don’t come in little boxes (or at least never that I’ve seen), but I wish they would. The Canadian Cask edition was particularly good, so you’re in for a treat.

Leave a Reply

