Skip to content

BC Beer – Cannery Blackberry Porter (floated)

July 26, 2010

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these. I’ve been really busy lately. I’m also still trying to drink through my cellar, which, unfortunately, is almost all imports.

The concept of the beer float has always intrigued me. My first foray in to was incredibly successful with Driftwood’s Blackstone Porter and vanilla ice cream. I needed to do it again. I figured that Cannery’s Blackberry Porter would make a good candidate. Well, did it? I’ll share my experience after I talk about the beer a little more.

I found the aroma to be slightly sour and acidic blackberry along with coffee, nut and toffee. Taste was same sans the sour and acidicness in the aroma. The mouthfeel was that of what you would expect from a porter, smooth and slightly bitter. Overall this beer just didn’t come together for me. Cannery’s other fruit beer offering I found to be better done.

Rating: Average
Style: Porter w/ blackberry
ABV: 6.5%
Serving Temp: 8ºC
Website: http://www.cannerybrewing.com/
BCL: 92098

Now for the ice creamed floated Cannery Blackberry Porter. I chose a vanilla ice cream to use. Breyer’s I believe. I figured vanilla is the safest to experiment with. I found all the flavours of the beer to suddenly dull and be come accompanied by vanilla (didn’t see that did you). However, an incredibly dominate burnt flavour took control. It made it hard to finish the beer float. I don’t think I’ll be going down the beer float road with this beer again.

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

