Skip to content

BC Beer – Driftwood Fat Tug IPA

October 26, 2010

I got wind that a Liquor Plus store, here in Victoria, had got Fat Tug in yesterday. Being half way through a bottle of another beer already I had to wait until today to head down to my nearest Liquor Plus, the Douglas St. location. Much to my dismay, it wasn’t on the shelves, but I did spot two boxes with the label affixed to the side. So, of course I opened the box and grabbed a bottle. The woman at the counter asked if I had opened one of her boxes. I proudly told her “yes.”

With an extreme power to tonnage ratio, this behemoth velivers a barge load of hops. This unassuming 22 ounces bottle packs 80 IBUs of unrelenting diesel power! Let this Fat Tug pull you in slow and low to Hoppy Nirvana…

I was talking to Jason, from Driftwood, back in July, or August, and he said they planned to do an IPA in the fall, after they brew Sartori. That time is now upon us. Driftwood boasts a brilliant showcase of hop forward beers in the portfolio; Naughty Hildegard, Sartori and Driftwood Pale Ale. Let’s see if they can keep it up.

Huge nose of pine, grapefruit, lemon, grass, sweet malt, citrus. The alcohol, in this super fresh beer, makes a brief flash of an appearance on the backend. Fat Tug has a very soft mouthfeel with a dry finish and modest lingering grassy bitterness. Other than that it doesn’t have a lot going on. I think I set myself up for something that wasn’t attainable.

Apparently Fat Tug is still a work in progress. I’ll do another round when it’s finally done. For now the one bottle was enough for me.

Rating: Good
Style: American IPA
ABV: 7.0%
Serving Temp: 6-9ºC
Website: http://driftwoodbeer.com/
BCL: 844399

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

