Skip to content

BC Beer – Phillips Instigator Doppelbock (2010)

December 16, 2010

Instigator is named after Phillips original bottling line back when Matt exported his beer from Esquimalt.

As I poured Instigator into my glass I was struck with blast of sweet malt aroma. Very sweet and lightly malty. This is pretty much how the beer tasted. Incredibly sweet, a bit malty with an off-putting flavour on the backend. I have no idea how to describe it, but it make go “blech!” a couple times.

If you read this blog then that automatically means I like you, therefore, I can’t recommend you this beer. Instigator is vintaged, who knows. Maybe after a year or two it might be drinkable. If you go that route let me know, because I’m sure not.

Rating: Bad
Style: Doppelbock
ABV: 8.5%
Serving Temp: 8-10ºC
Website: http://phillipsbeer.com/
BCL: 806307

From → Beer, Limited Release

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. BC Beer – Lighthouse Navigator « Beer in BC

Leave a Reply

