Skip to content

BC Beer – Spinnakers Festive Saison

January 3, 2011

I’m not sure which came first the beer or the name. Either way, it required me to walk in to downtown Esquimalt to acquire a bottle. I’m not sure why the Spinnakers Spirit Merchants in Vic West doesn’t sell any of Spinnakers beer. You think it would be the one place you’d be guaranteed to find their beers. Guess not.

For aroma Festive Saison has a floral, spicy, orange, caramel, grass, grain and something I can’t place that is on the unpleasant side. On the taste a coppery flavour joins in and the flavours all become muddled in a mess that finishes with another odd flavour and on the sweet. Festive Saison has a weird body, which I think is from the presence of diacetyl. In my opinion, Festive Saison just didn’t work out. You might like it. I didn’t. Beers like this are the hardest to write anything about. The more enjoyable a beer the more you want to write about it.

Rating: Bad
Style: Saison
ABV: 5.5%
Serving Temp: 8ºC
Website: http://www.spinnakers.com/
BCL: 354332

From → Beer, Limited Release

2 Comments
  1. Leo permalink

    I’ve been wanting to try this and possibly review it so I avoided reading your post, but since I couldn’t find it anywhere in Vancouver, I thought I’d take a peak at the rating. After reading the bad rating I ended up reading it, haha. That’s too bad, cause I was really looking forward to this one. I hope the Lighthouse Saison won’t dissapoint. I’m still going to try this if I ever find it.

Leave a Reply

