Skip to content

BC Beer – Phillips The Hammer Barrel Aged

January 22, 2011

Now that I’ve shared my experience, and opinions, over Driftwood’s Singularity, I move on to the other barrel aged Imperial Stout in town – Phillips’ The Hammer Barrel Aged Imperial Stout.

When I started out in drinking good beer Phillips quickly became a friend of mine. Now we’ve gone our separate ways, if you haven’t noticed. But their The Hammer has always held a place in my heart. I don’t know why I liked it so much. I hated coffee and hops at the time (still hate coffee to this day), and The Hammer was like a cool cup of hopped coffee. Yet, I would go through a bottle at a ridiculous pace. And every time I went to Hillside Liquor Store I would always find a bottle in my basket, and I wouldn’t remember grabbing it out of the cooler and placing it in my basket. When I found out The Hammer was only released during January I was crushed. I had to wait two years to drink it again. And in those two years I drank many, many Imperial Stouts in and from different countries. Would I still have feelings for the first beer crush I had?

Huge aroma of coffee, some hops and a touch of bourbon in the background. Taste is much the same. Finishes on the dry side with a sticky toffee flavour that lingers. Slightly oxidized.

What happened to my The Hammer? The profile is similar, but the beer. The beer is not what I remembered. Has my taste shifted? Has the quality gone down? I’m hoping that it’s the former.

I have a feeling that the barrel-aging just a knee-jerk reaction after hearing about Driftwood’s Singularity. The bourbon is barely noticeable. It’s like that dude at the party who just sits in a chair. You know he is there and you keep looking for him, hoping. Hoping that he’ll introduce himself and join the party. But he just sits there slowly sipping on some beer. Then up and leaves when no one is looking. That’s how the bourbon is like in The Hammer.

Rating: Average
Style: Barrel Aged Imperial Stout
ABV: 8.3%
Serving Temp: 8-10ºC
Website: http://phillipsbeer.com/
BCL: 359117

From → Beer, Seasonal

2 Comments
  1. i have a couple bottles of aged bottles… we’ll see how they compare to this years. i am hoping they aged alright. i have a couple bottles of the barreled aged as well, so, i hope they are alright.

  2. Leo permalink

    Yeah I was quite bummed out with this too. It sucks cause I was looking forward to it too, it was the first time I said mostly negative things in a post. Great read.

Leave a Reply

