Skip to content

BC Beer – Phillips The Hammer

January 24, 2011

So I had Phillips barrel-aged version of The Hammer the other day, now it’s time for the regular version. Will I find the same beer I used to love, or some neutered imperial stout with memories yesteryears?

As soon as I popped the cap off my room filled with strong aromas of espresso/coffee. Is this the beer I remember? I pour in to my glass. A sniff answers my question. My The Hammer is back. Huge coffee aromas, followed by toffee, caramel and touch of hops. On the taste I got coffee, cocoa, milk chocolate, touch of ash and cola on the back-end. The Hammer finishes dry.

This is what I remembered, however, I feel like my tastes have moved on from it. I’ll probably pick up another bottle of this years batch, and one bottle each year down road for nostalgia’s sake. I much preferred the regular version to the barrel-aged version. I found the flavours in the barrel-aged bottle to be weak and stale.

Rating: Good
Style: Barrel Aged Imperial Stout
ABV: 8.3%
Serving Temp: 8-10ºC
Website: http://phillipsbeer.com/
BCL: 359117

From → Beer, Seasonal

One Comment
  1. Ya I enjoyed this one too, but it could have used a little something more I thought. Still for its strength, its a fine drinkable stout.
    BB

Leave a Reply

