Skip to content

Import Fri… er Thursday – Cinco de Mayo Edition

May 5, 2011

Okay, this beer isn’t Mexican. It’s actually French. But, it’s flavoured ‘like’ tequila. And tequila is very much Mexican. Yeah, this is a kind of a stretch, but I’m not about to go buy some Corona or Dos Equis for this. This was already sitting in my fridge.

It comes in a clear bottle, but I’m pretty sure there are no hops in it. As it doesn’t smell or tasted skunked, but there are so many oils and extracts in this beer it would hide it anyways. The aroma is incredibly herbal, but not fresh herbs, more of the oil of “whatever” herb smell. It is also a bit flowery, and some there is some else there. I presume it’s the tequila. Presume… The taste is less herbal. It’s really hard to pick out any favourite as it is incredibly sweet. It’s kind of fruity in general. There is a quick burst of tequila flavour on the finish.

Basically this beer would only enjoyed by people who love their coolers/alco-pop and tequila shots. It’s much more an alco-pop in flavour than it is a beer.

I love the ingredient list: “Beer, Sugar, Flavours (Tequila, essential oils, extract of herbs and spices), Citric Acid. Includes Malted Barley.”

Rating: Bad
Style: Malt based Alco-pop
ABV: 5.9%
Serving Temp: 0ºC
Website: http://www.desperadosbeer.co.uk/
BCL: n/a

From → Beer, Import

3 Comments
  1. I’m not going to lie, I’ve been looking for this beer in BC. Where did you buy them?

    • I’ve seen it at The Strath here in Victoria. I’ve also seen it around in Vancouver.

  2. Antoine permalink

    please tell me where in Vancouver! I love this beeeeer

Leave a comment